Jockey Club Contemporary Dance Literacy and Learning Project

The Hong Kong Arts Development Council’s 14th Hong Kong Arts Development Award Certificate of Merit (Non-School Division) for Arts Education Awardee

The Hong Kong Dance Alliance’s 22nd Hong Kong Dance Awards Outstanding Dance Education or Community Dance Award Nominee

CCDC launched this three-year “Jockey Club Contemporary Dance Literacy and Learning Project” funded by the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust in September 2018 to give Hong Kong primary and secondary school students their first encounter with contemporary dance. Through an innovative programme of school tour performances, guided appreciation and experiential workshops, the project lays the groundwork for developing interest and appreciation for the arts. This project targets all eligible primary and secondary schools in Hong Kong.

The project includes:
1. “Dance out of the Box 2.0” Contemporary Dance School Tour
2. Guided Appreciation of Professional Contemporary Dance Production
3. Contemporary Dance Workshops

Online Learning Resource

For the first time ever, the CCDC has also launched the Dance Out of the Box — Online Learning Resource, for the use of students learning at home.
This learning resource includes four episodes of short videos. Each episode is carefully crafted with its own theme and content, and is about 15 minutes in length. Moreover, the supplementary teaching resources “Teachers’ Pack” including teaching PowerPoints for teachers and worksheets for students, are also provided for further education. As such, we hope to strengthen students’ physical and mental well-being in adversity, and help them live every day to the fullest.

Jockey Club Contemporary Dance Literacy and Learning Project scheme

Dance Out of the Box 2.0 School Tour

School Tour Show “Dance Out of the Box 2.0” – Encompassing a novel combination of live demonstrations, lectures and interactive activities, the brand-new production introduces how contemporary dance is channeled from daily life experiences and intrigues your students to think about the relationship of dance, personal expression and the environment.

What is dance? What is contemporary dance? And what does contemporary dance mean to me?
The CCDC education team has professionally choreographed three original dances for your students to understand the relationship of the human body, movement and creative context, as well as the way to grip the audience’s emotion by weaving music with movement. What’s more, your students can seize the chance to improvise with our teaching artists to explore “originality, space and body”. In the process of active inspiration and creation, we connect and narrow the artistic distance between dance and the students.

At the same time, this programme also provides students with the opportunity to “read” dance, as a way to cultivate audiences of contemporary dance and performing arts. The self-confidence and open attitude that students will acquire in the engagement with dance will lay the foundation for art appreciation, leaving your students with a lifelong rewarding lesson.

Guided Appreciation on Dance Productions – Visiting noteworthy Hong Kong performing arts venues, such as the West Kowloon Cultural District and Kwai Tsing Theatre, with the guided appreciation tailor-made for schools, we introduce students to professional stage performances brought together by lighting, music, stage effects and various multimedia elements. All these combines to enrich the aesthetic experience of the art of dance.

Experiential Workshops on Contemporary Dance: Workshops for Students: Designed for students with potential, the workshop will be delivered by professional instructors to further cultivate your students’ artistry and composition.

Workshops for Teachers: Through the experience of dance, lectures and application of teaching kits, the workshops foster teachers’ concept and expertise in contemporary dance and extend the art of dance education on campus.

Part One: Dance Out of the Box 2.0 School Tour

Dance Out of the Box 2.0 School Tour

School Tour Show “Dance Out of the Box 2.0” – Encompassing a novel combination of live demonstrations, lectures and interactive activities, the brand-new production introduces how contemporary dance is channeled from daily life experiences and intrigues your students to think about the relationship of dance, personal expression and the environment.

What is dance? What is contemporary dance? And what does contemporary dance mean to me?
The CCDC education team has professionally choreographed three original dances for your students to understand the relationship of the human body, movement and creative context, as well as the way to grip the audience’s emotion by weaving music with movement. What’s more, your students can seize the chance to improvise with our teaching artists to explore “originality, space and body”. In the process of active inspiration and creation, we connect and narrow the artistic distance between dance and the students.

At the same time, this programme also provides students with the opportunity to “read” dance, as a way to cultivate audiences of contemporary dance and performing arts. The self-confidence and open attitude that students will acquire in the engagement with dance will lay the foundation for art appreciation, leaving your students with a lifelong rewarding lesson.

Part Two: Guided Appreciation

Guided Appreciation on Dance Productions – Visiting noteworthy Hong Kong performing arts venues, such as the West Kowloon Cultural District and Kwai Tsing Theatre, with the guided appreciation tailor-made for schools, we introduce students to professional stage performances brought together by lighting, music, stage effects and various multimedia elements. All these combines to enrich the aesthetic experience of the art of dance.

Part Three: Workshop

Experiential Workshops on Contemporary Dance: Workshops for Students: Designed for students with potential, the workshop will be delivered by professional instructors to further cultivate your students’ artistry and composition.

Workshops for Teachers: Through the experience of dance, lectures and application of teaching kits, the workshops foster teachers’ concept and expertise in contemporary dance and extend the art of dance education on campus.

「赛马会当代舞『赏‧识』教育计划」

荣获香港艺术发展局「第十四届香港艺术发展奖」之「艺术教育奖」(非学校组) 优异表现奖,及获提名香港舞蹈联盟「香港舞蹈年奖2020」之「杰出舞蹈教育/社区舞蹈」。

承蒙香港赛马会慈善信托基金捐助,城市当代舞蹈团于2018年9月起,开展为期三年的「赛马会当代舞『赏‧识』教育计划」。透过崭新设计的学校互动巡演、舞台导赏及体验工作坊,让中小学生获得舞蹈表演初体验,引发兴趣继而发展艺术的基本鉴赏能力。目标对象为全港合资格中小学。

计划内容包括:
1. 「舞‧出个框框2.0」学校巡演
2. 舞台导赏
3. 当代舞工作坊

網上學習資源

另外,城市当代舞蹈团更破天荒推出「舞‧出个框框」舞看逆程版 网上学习资源,以配合同学在家学习的需要。
此网上学习资源共有四集,每集长约十多分钟的影片,短片均有不同主题及意义,并设有辅助教学资料包括工作纸、解读当代舞锦囊,融入教学,激发学生创意。再加以老师用教材及工作纸,务求令全港所有中小学生受惠。希望这系列节目能带给同学们另一种课外学习体验,从艺术中学习生活的态度,从生活中寻找艺术的踪迹。

「赛马会当代舞『赏·识』教育计划」内容

《舞.出个框框2.0》新版学校巡演 – 全新创作版本(粤语、英语及普通话演出),结合现场示范、讲解及互动环节的趣味活动,介绍当代舞如何从生活体验转化而成,引发同学们思考舞蹈与个人表达及环境的关系。
甚么是舞蹈?甚么是当代舞?当代舞与我又有甚么关系?

CCDC教育团队精心编排三段原创舞蹈,让同学们认识人体、运动和创作语境的关系,以及如何利用音乐配上动作带动观众情感。同学们更有机会与教育艺术家们一同即兴创作,发掘「原创、空间、身体」,在激发思考与创意过程中,拉近舞蹈与同学们的艺术距离。

同时,本节目亦提供学生「阅读」舞蹈的机会,培养当代舞及表演艺术的观众。令同学们有自信和以开放的态度去感受舞蹈,打好欣赏艺术的底子,终生受用。

舞台导赏 – 同学亲身到本港着名表演场地西九文化区、葵青剧院等,欣赏专业的舞台演出,配备灯光、音乐、舞台效果及其他多媒体元素,配合为学校特别而设的导赏,深化体验舞蹈艺术的美感价值。

学生工作坊:为具潜质的同学而设,由专业导师教授,进一步深化同学的舞蹈技巧及创作手法。

老师工作坊:透过舞蹈体验、讲解及教材套应用,加强老师对当代舞的概念及专业知识,以及在校园里延伸舞蹈艺术的教育。

第一部分:《舞·出个框框2.0》学校巡演

《舞.出个框框2.0》新版学校巡演 – 全新创作版本(粤语、英语及普通话演出),结合现场示范、讲解及互动环节的趣味活动,介绍当代舞如何从生活体验转化而成,引发同学们思考舞蹈与个人表达及环境的关系。
甚么是舞蹈?甚么是当代舞?当代舞与我又有甚么关系?

CCDC教育团队精心编排三段原创舞蹈,让同学们认识人体、运动和创作语境的关系,以及如何利用音乐配上动作带动观众情感。同学们更有机会与教育艺术家们一同即兴创作,发掘「原创、空间、身体」,在激发思考与创意过程中,拉近舞蹈与同学们的艺术距离。

同时,本节目亦提供学生「阅读」舞蹈的机会,培养当代舞及表演艺术的观众。令同学们有自信和以开放的态度去感受舞蹈,打好欣赏艺术的底子,终生受用。

第二部分:舞台导赏

舞台导赏 – 同学亲身到本港着名表演场地西九文化区、葵青剧院等,欣赏专业的舞台演出,配备灯光、音乐、舞台效果及其他多媒体元素,配合为学校特别而设的导赏,深化体验舞蹈艺术的美感价值。

第三部分:当代舞工作坊

学生工作坊:为具潜质的同学而设,由专业导师教授,进一步深化同学的舞蹈技巧及创作手法。

老师工作坊:透过舞蹈体验、讲解及教材套应用,加强老师对当代舞的概念及专业知识,以及在校园里延伸舞蹈艺术的教育。