Rudolf von Laban

Rudolf von Laban, whose parents were aristocrats, was of Hungarian and French descent. Laban was very interested in art and theater since he was a child.  He had the chance to live amongst different ethnic groups with his senior military officer father during his childhood, allowing him to observe the characteristics of life and movement of various ethnic groups. This experience planted the seeds for his movement analysis works in the future. Laban went to Paris to study architecture and philosophy in his youth; that was when he became interested in the relationship between body and space.

Laban Movement Analysis

Laban movement analysis is a method of capturing movements by writing. Laban has developed the basic principles of movement’s shape, sequence and dynamics. He developed the labanotation, a set of symbols used to describe, analyze, and record human movements, similar to musical notation. We use these symbols and analytical methods to describe how movements occur, what happens, when and where they occur, and sometimes why.

Labanotation

Contemporary Dance Maestros

Isadora Duncan (1877-1927)

An American dance trailblazer, Duncan is known as the “mother of modern dance.” She believed that dance should be an expression of everyday activities and can express the most profound human thoughts and feelings. She advocated that dance should be based on natural rhythms and movements, and the interpretation of music should start from instinctual dance rhythms.

Martha Graham (1894-1991)

An American dancer, her style of dance is called “Graham Technique”, which emphasizes contraction and release. Graham’s style reshaped American modern dance and is still widely studied. Some modern artists were influenced by her unique modern dance.

Merce Cunningham (1919-2009)

American dancer Merce Cunningham is known as the pioneer of postmodern dance. His works emphasized lines, space and rhythm of the limbs. Every element can be expressed, and the audience can decide how they communicate with the work presented. Cunningham attached great importance to the process of creation. The sequence of dance steps in his works is sometimes presented in random order.

Pina Bausch (1940-2009)

A German choreographer and representative of contemporary dance, Bausch created a dance theater style combining dance movements, music, stage set, and close relationship cultivated with dancers. Small sections of dialogues and movements made up many of her works.

Helen Lai (1951- )

Lai joined the City Contemporary Dance Company as a founding member in 1979. The creative elements in her works span different cultural and artistic fields. Her delicate and exquisite works are full of music and drama.  They point directly to the deepest part of the human soul.

Willy Tsao (1955- )

A dancer and choreographer from Hong Kong, Tsao is an influential figure in the Chinese modern dance scene. Establishing modern dance troupes in Hong Kong, Guangzhou and Beijing since 1979, Tsao has created more than 60 works.

鲁道夫‧拉宾

鲁道夫‧拉宾拥有匈牙利及法国血统,父母均来自贵族阶级。拉宾自幼对艺术和剧场十分感兴趣,童年时常跟随担任高级军职的父亲在不同族群的地区居住,让他观察到各个族群的生活和动作特征,埋下了日后对于动作分析研究的种子。年青时,拉宾曾远赴巴黎修读建筑和哲学,并在此期间产生对身体与空间关系的兴趣。

拉宾动作分析

拉宾动作分析是一种用书写捕捉动作的方法。拉宾研究出动作的形式、序列和动力的基本原理。他发展出拉宾舞谱,一套符号,用以描述、分析和记录人类的运动动作,就像音乐的乐谱一样。我们运用这些符号和分析方法,来描述动作是如何发生的、发生了什么以及在何时何地发生,有时也涉及为什么发生。

拉宾舞谱

当代舞大师

伊莎朵拉‧邓肯 (1877-1927)

美国舞蹈先驱,被誉为「现代舞之舞」。她认为舞蹈应该是随意的活动表现,并能够表达出人类最深奥的思想与感情。主张舞蹈应建立在自然的节奏和动作上,以本能的舞蹈节奏出发去诠释音乐。

玛莎‧葛兰姆 (1894-1991)

美国舞蹈家,她的舞蹈风格被称为「葛兰姆技巧」,强调「收」与「放」,重新塑造美国的现代舞,至今仍被广泛学习。当时她独特的现代舞也影响了一部份的现代艺术。

摩斯‧简宁汉 (1919-2009)

美国舞蹈家,比被誉为后现代舞的启蒙者,强调肢体的线条、空间与节奏。每个元素都能表达,而观众可决定如何与作品沟通。简宁汉重视作品创作的过程。作品当中的舞步先后次序有时甚至以随机形式呈现。

翩娜‧包殊 (1940-2009)

德国编舞家,当代舞的代表人物,创立结合舞蹈动作、音乐、布景,以及与舞者紧密创作而成的「舞蹈剧场」风格。她的作品是由对话与动作等许多小段所组成。

黎海宁 (1951 - )

1979年加入城市当代舞蹈团成为创团成员。创作元素跨越不同文化及艺术领域,作品沉练细腻,充满音乐性及戏剧性,直指人类灵魂最深处。

曹诚渊 (1955 - )

香港舞蹈家,在中国现代舞领域具有相当影响力。自1979年至今,分别于香港、广州及北京创立现代舞团,并创作逾六十多部作品。